My One Night Stand

Baby, call me a glutton, call me a tease,
But I can’t help it; I always seem to invite disaster in with open arms.
I know I shouldn’t play with fire,
But it gets so cold by myself at night and I know you could be the body next to mine.
If only for the night, in the very least; I know this game I play with myself is nothing short of dangerous,
And you are not worthy of anything of mine, at least, not anymore,
But I just can’t seem to help this need to self-destruct,
The drama intoxicates me until all I can see is my next high,
Whether with you, or the next someone to toy with my emotions.
Yet, I still cling to this illusion of romance and lust and wanting.
Knowing that it’s been too long and too much has happened for it to mean anything,
But I still cling and cling and cling, hoping I’ll latch unto any semblance of morale.
This always sounds better after the liqueur has entered my bloodstream,
And I am too far-gone to consider anything else,
So let me say this while I still can,
You will and always will be awful to me, you’ll use me, but I am not better,
And together we can fall into bed knowing what we expect out of each other,
And still be blinded by our own delusions.

15 thoughts on “My One Night Stand

  1. KonciouSLea says:

    Wow. I love this for many reasons. 1. Because it’s so str8 fwd
    2. Because it says everything I’d want to say but couldn’t and
    3. Because it’s from a woman’s perspective.
    Very well done. May I write a poetic reply?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

