The Beautiful Puzzle of You

“I’m sorry, I should have known he wasn’t over you”
The words come out as a whisper, and you accept defeat,
Taking a heart already captive is no prize to be sought,
And he was never worth the pain of a war that could not be won.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t know. He told me you were in the past”
How can you utter those words when you knew them to be false?
He had claimed to be free and willing, but there was a sense the reluctance and fear,
And you know all to well of a heart that is claimed by another.

“I’m sorry she isn’t me.”
As soon as the words leave you lips, you know they are true
(As much as it hurts for you to admit it)
And you almost laugh as he replies with sentiments and laments untrue
For you had seen him as he gazed upon her; you could never look at him like that.
You know it was never love, but it hurts all the same.

“I’m sorry, I wish there was something more I could say”
These are the words softly spoken to the first man who tries to fix you,
But your heart is torn into pieces and you know it isn’t fair,
So you let him down easy, but there is never such a thing,
And you watch as a new man walks away
With one more piece of your heart you will never get back,

“I’m sorry I can never find the right words to say”
You are tired of heartache and misery,
So you let yourself be wooed by strangers with pretty eyes and sad songs,
They always seem to find the flaws within you
And you always seem to find the quickest escape route.

“I’m sorry, but I need to find myself before I can love you”
You want to connect, you long to,
But you know that you need to repair the damage on your soul before anything,
So you spread your wings and fly into your heart
To discover the beautiful pieces that makes up you.

“I’m sorry, but this is me and there is nothing I would change”
You are tired of hearing those you love wonder what is wrong with you.
Why you can never seem to find happiness in the shape of another
Time will always make sure what needs to be done shall be,
When lovers fail to reconcile, and friends’ part easy ways
Some are for fate to decide while other get only a sentence to end a lifetime

“I’m sorry…” always seems to begin the end of a destiny that cannot be.
But your apologies have lead to greater things, (how could they know?)
And they do not know that you are whole and happy as yourself,
For you do not need anyone else to fit into the puzzle of you.

4 thoughts on “The Beautiful Puzzle of You

Leave a Reply

